Web Hosting Forum | Lunarpages


*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?



Login with username, password and session length
August 21, 2014, 12:05:35 PM

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Firewalls  (Read 7604 times)
JeremyD
SleePy...
Jabba the Hutt
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 733

SMF Team Member


WWW
« on: January 21, 2008, 12:49:18 PM »

Does lunarpages have firewalls on their dedicated servers?

I can't seem to get a script to work once I put it online, works fine from my computer. Doing a telnet via ssh returns a connection timed out.
I didn't notice any firewall settings in whm either so I am unsure if our server has one.
Logged

perestrelka
Administrator
Master Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397



« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2008, 12:38:48 AM »

Hi Jeremy,

If you purchased the Managed Hosting Intense addon (or the Managed Hosting addon before it was transformed to Light and Intense addons), your server should have APF firewall installed. Its settings are stored in files under /etc/apf. If you need a help with APF configuration, please let me know what ports your script requires to be opened.
Logged

Kind Regards,
Vlad Artamonov
JeremyD
SleePy...
Jabba the Hutt
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 733

SMF Team Member


WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2008, 06:15:21 PM »

ahh, typing apf in ssh comes up with the help. my script uses port 51234 [really] on tcp.
Logged

perestrelka
Administrator
Master Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397



« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2008, 09:09:18 PM »

ahh, typing apf in ssh comes up with the help. my script uses port 51234 [really] on tcp.

So in order to open this port in APF, you need to edit /etc/apf/conf.apf and add the port number into the IG_TCP_CPORTS variable, if the port should be opened for incoming connections or into the EG_TCP_CPORT variable to allow outgoing connections to it. Bear in mind that you should be very careful editing conf.apf as if it gets broken, you can be locked out of the server. To apply the changes restart APF by executing "/etc/init.d/apf restart".

Good luck! Wink


Logged

Kind Regards,
Vlad Artamonov
JeremyD
SleePy...
Jabba the Hutt
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 733

SMF Team Member


WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2008, 07:27:47 PM »

Hmm, still doesn't work Neutral It worked on shared hosting accounts here when we had a shared hosting account.
Logged

perestrelka
Administrator
Master Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397



« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2008, 08:32:08 PM »

Hmm, still doesn't work Neutral It worked on shared hosting accounts here when we had a shared hosting account.

It's strange. Can you please open a support ticket as it will be much faster to check your server directly on how firewall  is configured on it. Btw, does your script work on the server with APF stopped?

Logged

Kind Regards,
Vlad Artamonov
JeremyD
SleePy...
Jabba the Hutt
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 733

SMF Team Member


WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2008, 08:54:21 PM »

Yes it does, but I rather have a firewall Wink
I will submit a ticket and see what we can find out.
Logged

perestrelka
Administrator
Master Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397



« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2008, 11:55:23 PM »

Yes it does, but I rather have a firewall Wink
I will submit a ticket and see what we can find out.

Ok sounds good. If you PM me with the ticket number, I will be happy to look into this further.
Logged

Kind Regards,
Vlad Artamonov
JeremyD
SleePy...
Jabba the Hutt
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 733

SMF Team Member


WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2008, 11:21:23 AM »

Well they did already resolve it Smile but it was 657123

It needed to be in the outgoing filter as well.. That made the script work Smile
Logged

perestrelka
Administrator
Master Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397



« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2008, 10:32:13 PM »


I'm glad to hear this problem has been solved Wink
Logged

Kind Regards,
Vlad Artamonov
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: