|
hjc
|
 |
« on: March 24, 2011, 01:25:19 PM » |
|
I am trying to send an email to an msn.com account. the email is returned with this message: SMTP error from remote mail server after MAIL FROM:< jeff@jandscustomcreations.com> SIZE=50818: host mx1.hotmail.com [65.55.37.72]: 550 SC-001 Unfortunately, messages from 74.50.10.10 weren't sent. Please contact your Internet service provider since part of their network is on our block list. You can also refer your provider to http://mail.live.com/mail/troubleshooting.aspx#errors. can you help? Thanks Jeff
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
wektech
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2011, 05:11:46 PM » |
|
You need to open a ticket with support as your server has been blacklisted for sending spam.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
turula2
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2011, 11:51:27 AM » |
|
I'm getting the same response from MSN. LP: How about getting this fixed promptly. This is not the first time it's been happening. It took weeks to fix last time. It's not *my* server that's in trouble, it's yours LP's. The specific message I got is: "host mx3.hotmail.com [65.55.92.136]: 550 SC-001 Unfortunately, messages from 74.50.7.240 weren't sent." Why is LP getting put on the black list so often?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
djdorward
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2011, 01:10:55 AM » |
|
I've been waiting since last Friday (25th March) for this to be resolved - has anyone actually had this problem fixed or is it affecting everyone?
I'm on the DACAT server and so are 20 of my clients - all of whom aren't happy that they can't conduct their business properly.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
djdorward
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2011, 04:35:16 AM » |
|
still waiting for someone from the server admin team to even acknowledge receipt of my ticket - come on LP give me some hope that you've going to fix this for me. 
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
turula2
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2011, 11:03:10 AM » |
|
Emails to hotmail are still being rejected. I emailed support on the 27th and again on 3/28 - and got no response, not even the usual automated "ticket number" - is support still active? The last time this happened - 6 months ago - Jay Armitage is the tech person who eventually fixed it.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
hjc
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2011, 11:16:11 AM » |
|
Since i started this thread i should give an update. I did get a response from Jay Armitage day after i submitted a support ticket. A request to have the IP de-listed had been submitted and to allow up to 72 hr. After 72 hr nothing had changed and i sent an email back to Jay requesting "help" last night. No response since Jay's response on 3/25/2011.
Frustrating seems to be an understatement--makes one want to start considering more drastic options.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
turula2
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2011, 12:42:05 PM » |
|
I sent my email to support a third time and this time I did get an automated response: "Your ticket ID is 2213501."
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
wektech
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2011, 02:21:22 PM » |
|
It should be understood that LP can not remove an IP address from the blacklist, it usually must be done by the black list operator. Any time you are using an email server that is on shared hosting, the chance of getting blacklisted is there. With so many mail alternatives, most of which are free, being blacklisted is not that big a deal. I often set up mail accounts to use the smtp from an ISP or other mail provider. You can still use your LP address as a return to address while still using LP's POP server.The majority of users will never know you are using an alternate mail server to send mail..
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
turula2
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2011, 03:49:15 PM » |
|
Wektech - that's not very helpful - yes I know how to do it - reset my mail client parameters to use my ISP's smtp rather than LP's. It's a pain in the... Care to explain the process to all the other users of my domain and walk them though it? Why is LP getting blacklisted so often when the other smtp's don't seem to be? Yes I know hotmail is ridiculous - people should know better than to use it, but they do. Very frustrating. P.S.: how do you change the smtp if you're using LP WebMail? Later: looks like the emails to hotmail.com are going through OK again.
|
|
|
|
« Last Edit: April 01, 2011, 04:56:50 PM by turula2 »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
hjc
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2011, 10:43:17 PM » |
|
Another email from LP support indicated problem resolved. Checked earlier today and seems like all of my msn/hotmail blacklist issues have been cleared. Unfortunately there is still nothing to tell me what i need to change that it does not happen again.
Thanks to LP support for closure--wish it had been quicker but still very happy it is fixed.
Cheers
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
katrina1
Guest
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2011, 05:54:36 AM » |
|
Support cannot tell you what to change because A) Hotmail is not telling us what is causing it and B) it may not be your account that is the issue. Any account on a shared server can cause the issue.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
cynicscorner
Newbie
Offline
Posts: 2
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: April 01, 2011, 05:53:34 PM » |
|
This issue is definitely not fixed. I'm on Dacat, and mail sent to Hotmail continues to bounce. Support seems to be slow on this issue. I didn't get a human reply until three days after initially opening the ticket. This reply said "We will investigate the issue and take appropriate action. I have placed the request to have the IP de-listed please allow up to 72 hours for this to take effect. " 72 hours later, mail to Hotmail was still bouncing, and I updated my ticket to this effect yesterday. More than 24 hours after that, I've received no additional reply and seen no resolution. Can anyone shed any light on this?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
Jawadt
|
 |
« Reply #13 on: April 03, 2011, 02:27:46 PM » |
|
We apologize for the inconvenience faced. We are working constantly with hotmail to get this resolved asap but at times their support has not been very quick to respond. Also not all IPs being blocked are source of spam. Sometimes they are blocked because of a neighboring IP in the same block. To be fair to hotmail, this technique is often practiced by other large spam databases around the world as well which often leaves innocent end users effected like the ones reporting in this thread. If this is still unresolved, please update your ticket so that this can be worked with hotmail asap. This issue is definitely not fixed. I'm on Dacat, and mail sent to Hotmail continues to bounce. Support seems to be slow on this issue. I didn't get a human reply until three days after initially opening the ticket. This reply said "We will investigate the issue and take appropriate action. I have placed the request to have the IP de-listed please allow up to 72 hours for this to take effect. " 72 hours later, mail to Hotmail was still bouncing, and I updated my ticket to this effect yesterday. More than 24 hours after that, I've received no additional reply and seen no resolution. Can anyone shed any light on this?
|
|
|
|
« Last Edit: April 03, 2011, 02:34:41 PM by Jawadt »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
cynicscorner
Newbie
Offline
Posts: 2
|
 |
« Reply #14 on: April 03, 2011, 04:28:28 PM » |
|
Thanks for the reply, Jawadt. The issue is unresolved. I updated my ticket three days ago, and have received no reply since. Supposedly if I update the ticket again, it gets pushed to the end of the queue, so feel I can't do that.
It may be that Hotmail support is slow, but LP Support is not covering themselves with glory here either. It took more than 72 hours to get a response when I first filed the ticket, and it's 72 hours and counting since I last updated it with no reply. It's ticket #2210103 in case anyone is able to light a fire under somebody about it.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|