Web Hosting Forum | Lunarpages


*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?



Login with username, password and session length
May 22, 2012, 07:36:40 AM

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Someone is using my mail sys  (Read 472 times)
trey333
Pong! (the videogame) Master
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 27



« on: January 01, 2004, 11:50:35 AM »

I have received returned mail that was never sent my me, nor does the account even exist. How do people tap into my sys. using the (anything)@vcyb.org? It has happened twice now. Can I take the IP addresses shown and add them to my block list? Any suggestions?

This is some of what was returned to me:

Quote
<bykelover@yahoo.com>:
Sorry your message to bykelover@yahoo.com cannot be delivered. This account has been disabled or discontinued [#102].
 
<bykeman@yahoo.com>:
This user doesn't have a yahoo.com account (bykeman@yahoo.com) [-5]
 
--- Original message follows.
 
X-YahooFilteredBulk: 217.226.210.212
Return-Path: <zbbagfrgt@vcyb.org>
Received: from 217.226.210.212 (EHLO ) (217.226.210.212)
   by mta204.mail.scd.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 31 Dec 2003 17:30:35 -0800
To: <fgzudrmbjjjov@axh.org>
From: "ParisTheSlut" <zbbagfrgt@vcyb.org>
Subject: View the Paris X-Rated Tape Here..Enjoy
Date: Wed, 31 Dec 2003 20:30:46 01900
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html;
  charset="iso-8859-1"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
 
<HTML><CENTER><FONT COLOR=3D"BLUE"><B><FONT face=3D"Arial,Helvetica"><FONT s=
ize=3D+3>ParisHilton SexTape</FONT></b><BR><B><FONT face=3D"Arial,Helvetica=
"><FONT color=3D"#000099"><CENTER><FONT size=3D+1>This is the ParisHilton S=
exVideo everyone is talking about!</FONT></B></CENTER><BR><CENTER></B><FONT=
  face=3D"Arial,Helvetica"><A HREF=3D"http://dermohumeralenforce@dartyflegm.i=
nfo/10b/phn/"enforce><FONT COLOR=3D"RED"><CENTER><FONT size=3D6><u>SeeItHer=
eFree</A>
Logged
sharpandpointless
Jabba the Hutt
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 651


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2004, 12:10:29 PM »

wow.
Logged

Have a wonderful day!
www.gpathmedia.com
GaryG
Spaceship Navigator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 87

CycliStats - Software for Cyclists


WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2004, 07:09:31 PM »

Return addresses are routinely forged by spammers.  The email did not originate from your account or mail server, but does use your domain name in the "From", so this is why you are getting the bouncebacks.

There's nothing you can do about it.  Fortunately, spammers change their "From" addresses fairly frequently, so it will probably go away in a week or two.
Logged

Shasta Software - http://www.shastasoftware.com
Developers of CycliStats - Software for Cyclists - http://www.CycliStats.com
Jwink3101
Über Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1838


The one and only.


« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2004, 07:29:12 PM »

sadly, Spoofing as it has come to be called is a large problem. See: http://www.lunarforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10173

As i said in other posts, it is so easy. I once did it to my dad with his permission to show him how easy it is.
Logged

-Justin Winokur


"The Music is reversible but time is not. Turn Back! Turn Back! Turn Back! Turn Back!" - Intentional backmasking in ELO's Fire On High.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: