Web Hosting Forum | Lunarpages


*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?



Login with username, password and session length
February 08, 2012, 06:38:08 PM

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Segonax IP hits the Brightmail Suspect List  (Read 1259 times)
lexhair
Galactic Royalty
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 402


« on: November 13, 2007, 07:01:18 AM »

Lovely news this morning. Set out a routine email and got bounced with the following:
Quote
Your mail from IP 209.200.235.101 was rejected due to listing by Brightmail/Symantec suspectlist.
The bounce was forwarded to abuse@lunarpages.com and I sent in a delist request. We'll see what happens.
Logged
lexhair
Galactic Royalty
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 402


« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2007, 10:48:29 AM »

Something worked. Probably the delist request but we're back in action now.  Applause

Wonder who's on Segonax causing hate and discontent.  Confused

Logged
MrPhil
Berserker Poster
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5081



« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2007, 03:29:57 PM »

Wonder who's on Segonax causing hate and discontent.  Confused

Could be a lot of things:
  • Someone deliberately spamming from their account
  • Someone's account hacked and taken over for spamming, unbeknownst to the account owner
  • Site with newsletter, AOLuser recipient clicks on "report this email as spam" to unsubscribe
  • Site email mistaken for spam (many links, or other such spam-like characteristics)
  • Site email forwarded to another host/ISP, including the spam received by the site
  • other stuff

Some of these can be detected by LP and the offending accounts shut down.
Logged

lexhair
Galactic Royalty
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 402


« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2009, 04:58:56 AM »

E-mail to yahoo.com from segonax.lunarpages.com is getting delayed delivery due to 'user complaints.' I've been back and forth with yahoo's postmaster and they tell me they can't do anything to facilitate delivery because segonax is a shared server.

Perhaps segonax could use a little policing of the mail server so it doesn't affect the good citizens.
Logged
lexhair
Galactic Royalty
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 402


« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2009, 11:00:44 AM »

Now comcast.net is spam blocking Segonax. Ticket submitted. Grrr.
Logged
kdorsey
Trekkie
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2009, 05:16:24 PM »

They are blacklisting the whole C-class range?
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: