Web Hosting Forum | Lunarpages

Author Topic: Frontpage site on subdomain  (Read 41266 times)

Offline gmboothe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Frontpage site on subdomain
« on: December 29, 2014, 10:31:29 AM »
I need to redo my 10 year old Frontpage 2003 website and want to make the change to WordPress.  I would like to keep the old FP site online in the meantime.  I have been reading through the forums and searching online for a simple way to go about this, but haven't really found what I need.  I am wondering if this will work:  Delete my FP website from my public folder on Lunarpages.  Use File Manager to create a sub-domain, then upload the old FP site to the sub-domain (It appears you can specify this in FrontPage 2003.)   Create a new index page on my domain using WP to begin building the new site.  I have removed web content that needs the FP extensions and turned this off in FP.   My knowledge level is very basic - please consider this in any replies.  I appreciate any help in this.       

Offline MrPhil

  • Senior Moderator
  • Berserker Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6163
Re: Frontpage site on subdomain
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2014, 11:07:35 AM »
If your current FP site is still working and active, I would suggest leaving it in place for now, so that people can find it and you don't lose Search Engine ranking. Install WP in its own directory and do your development there. When you have it working as desired, in /.htaccess (assuming a Linux/Apache server) do a URL rewrite from / to your new WP-based site. Don't move the WP site -- just transfer control to it. That also positions you for adding other applications and a custom landing page in the future, if you so desire. Just be careful never to have an application (with its own .htaccess) in the root, as feeding through to other applications (in subdirectories) means going through the root application's .htaccess file, which will often break other applications.
Visit My Site

E-mail Me
  
-= From the ashes shall rise a sooty tern =-

Offline gmboothe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Frontpage site on subdomain
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2014, 12:05:18 PM »
I guess I didn't emphasize enough how low my skill level is on this stuff.  Most of what you said went right over my head.  "Install WP in its own directory" - I hoped to have  Softaculous take care of the install, don't know how to do that properly.  "do a URL rewrite from / to your new WP-based site"  - Huh?  The whole last sentence...  I don't come up with much help searching the forums for what you mention.  This is why I was looking for a simple solution.  It wasn't necessary to learn any of this stuff with FrontPage and trying to read up on this stuff online can be very confusing and time-consuming.  I can't use FP on my current PC (Win8) and have to drag out an old laptop with XP to work on the site.  If there isn't a simple way to do it, I might have to just lose the old website and start from scratch.   

Offline MrPhil

  • Senior Moderator
  • Berserker Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6163
Re: Frontpage site on subdomain
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2014, 01:17:00 PM »
Well, FP was replaced by Expression Web, and I'd be surprised if it can't handle old FP projects. You might check if it's Win8 compatible. There's also Dreamweaver, but like EW, it costs $$. There are bound to be some low cost or free "WYSIWYG" page editors around (Nvu rings a bell), and maybe one is FP compatible. I would presume that Lunarpages still offers Page Mason (free).

As for moving to WP, you should be able to tell Softaculous where to install it. Instead of / (probably the default), choose /myStory (or whatever). Then (when your WP site is ready to go live) create the following /.htaccess file (or add these lines to an existing one):

Code: [Select]
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond  %{REQUEST_URI}  !^/myStory
RewriteRule  ^(.*)$  /myStory/$1

Once the new WP seems stable, you can remove the old FP stuff.
Visit My Site

E-mail Me
  
-= From the ashes shall rise a sooty tern =-

Offline gmboothe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Frontpage site on subdomain
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2014, 03:54:45 PM »
Once again, I would need step by step instructions for what you describe in the installation and and htaccess file.  I know this stuff is simple to you, but I just haven't worked with it. 

As to the software, my understanding is that Expression Web is not  WYSIWYG, which rules it out for me, and Dreamweaver is expensive.   When I was considering upgrading to Win8 on my old PC, the Microsoft upgrade assistant suggested Sharepoint Designer as the replacement for FP.  When searching online, I could find little information about using SPD, but I saw it mentioned several places that it was only for editing Sharepoint websites, whatever that means.  I saw many recommendations for switching to WordPress.   I have used WordPress a little bit and thought it was something I would be able to learn without too much trouble, and the price is right.   Any thoughts on using Sharepoint Designer?

Offline MrPhil

  • Senior Moderator
  • Berserker Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6163
Re: Frontpage site on subdomain
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2014, 06:42:25 PM »
Sorry, but I can't explain it any more simply. There's a minimum skill level you need to attain to do these things.

Expression Web is the follow-on to FrontPage, and though I have never used it, everyone calls it WYSIWYG. Maybe check a few more sources. I'm also not familiar with Sharepoint, and can't tell you how an SP site differs from a plain HTML site, or if it can pick up an FP project. I would certainly expect Microsoft to offer upgrade paths (ability to import FP projects) to either EW or SD. It's possible that some other WYSIWYG designers/editors can also import FP.

How complex is your existing site? If plain HTML with no JavaScript and no CSS, you should be able to copy and paste from your site pages into Page Mason, EW, or even WordPress. You might have to replicate any JS or CSS from scratch. Did you use any database functionality?

Without knowing what kind of functionality and complexity your current FP site has, it's hard to recommend anything in particular. If it's just simple plain static HTML, it should be trivial to replicate it on another system. If it has JS or CSS, that will require some skill to transfer or re-create. If it's already using database functions, that could be quite complex.
Visit My Site

E-mail Me
  
-= From the ashes shall rise a sooty tern =-

Offline gmboothe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Frontpage site on subdomain
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2014, 10:10:14 PM »
The minimum skill level is the problem.  I want to spend my time driving the car, not overhauling the engine.  I believe I will try Sharepoint Designer to see if I can edit what I have now.  If not, it won't break my heart to start from scratch with WordPress.  I planned to redo what I have anyway, just wanted to leave the old pages up until then.  Thank you for your help.

Offline doncht

  • Intergalactic Cowboy
  • *****
  • Posts: 63
Re: Frontpage site on subdomain
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2015, 02:27:22 PM »
Hi gmboothe, just curious here. How did the Sharepoint Designer went out for you if I may ask?

 

Share |