Web Hosting Forum | Lunarpages


*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?



Login with username, password and session length
May 24, 2012, 12:18:56 AM

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: microsoft getting paranoid  (Read 3664 times)
psykik
Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 750



WWW
« on: January 18, 2004, 12:50:49 PM »

Have you read this or heard this ?

It's just unbelievable !!!
check it :

http://www.canada.com/victoria/story.asp?id=B87578CC-A492-483A-8610-EFDFCBFF0AFF
Logged

Danielle
Guest
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2004, 12:58:41 PM »

I don't find it unbelievable. It doesn't surprise me at all frankly.  I think that Microsoft is really placing consumers intelligence at discerning the difference between Microsoft and Mike Rowe Soft at a very low level.  After reading this, I'm rather more unhappy with Microsoft than normal, since I don't like to be considered an idiot incapable of telling the difference between one company and another.  I think I'll go buy the domain name NotMicrosoft.com now.  Wink
Logged
psykik
Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 750



WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2004, 01:13:04 PM »

LOL

ok I'll buy
Mycrowsoft.com


I mean I do have a crow and it's soft  Evil or Very Mad  Ner Ner
Logged

Danielle
Guest
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2004, 01:15:45 PM »

Wow, a crow...really? I've heard of people having them as pets, but never knew anyone who did.  You'll have to tell us more about this pet of yours.  Smile
Logged
mark363
Über Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2649


« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2004, 01:19:38 PM »

Better say it's a Spanish crow-- otherwise Microsoft will argue that since you put the adjective AFTER the noun, you were simply trying to mimic them (Spanish ppl put adjectives after nouns for some odd reason... like the ball red, and the crow soft)  Wink
Logged
mark363
Über Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2649


« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2004, 01:22:25 PM »

Actually, there already is a mycrowsoft.com owned by Stephan Bock called Purple Crow's News Archive.

I have an idea--let's sue!!!

Plus there's an http://lunaforums.com .
Logged
psykik
Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 750



WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2004, 01:31:13 PM »

eheheh don't worry about the noun-adjective position. It's the same in french as well. don't ask me why... it's just the way we speak

luckly in dutch it's not like that.
Logged

Coon
Adi
Über Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2549



WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2004, 02:48:57 PM »

There was someone at another forum that I know who registered a domain that was something like www.mycarsoft.com. He emailed Microsfot and asked them if they wanted to buy the domain from him and take his idea. His idea was for Microsoft to use the domain and site for car software or some stuff like that. At first they told him they were not interested, but a week later he got an email asking him how much he wanted for the domain, hehe.
Logged

Soccer Forum - Established freestyle soccer forum!
Freestyle Football - Cool soccer freestyle videos! Must SEE!
Frisco Painting - Faux painting for Dallas, TX area.
stephan
Guest
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2004, 06:02:40 PM »

Pathetic!

Microsoft are a joke!
Logged
Jwink3101
Über Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1838


The one and only.


« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2004, 07:41:46 PM »

If you read the computer foulups you will see mine is buying a computer running Winblows (i mean windows). I am hoping my new buisness (which will be up and running soon) will make me enough to get a 17" power book (as my friend says, "Lapzilla")
Logged

-Justin Winokur


"The Music is reversible but time is not. Turn Back! Turn Back! Turn Back! Turn Back!" - Intentional backmasking in ELO's Fire On High.
Boris
Master Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1082



WWW
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2004, 08:08:17 PM »

Yay, with psykik that four people that can speak french around Wink


My god, this is very stupid of them (but i guess it's better that they care about domain names nowadays.. Ah..the time of msoft dns foulups Wink )


Jwink: Ah...Powerbooks Wink (too bad discreet software doesnt run on mac  Confused  )
Logged

Questions on graphics? Visit the lunarpages Graphics forum!

Bugging Danielle daily since 2003.

Have a Lunar Day!
Jwink3101
Über Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1838


The one and only.


« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2004, 09:38:49 PM »

Quote from: Autarkis
(too bad discreet software doesnt run on mac  )


I do not get it? what do your mean?
Logged

-Justin Winokur


"The Music is reversible but time is not. Turn Back! Turn Back! Turn Back! Turn Back!" - Intentional backmasking in ELO's Fire On High.
Hush
Senior Moderator
Über Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2905


« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2004, 02:28:07 AM »

I'm gonna put in my personal oppinion, and wait for the flames to start...  Ner Ner

The guy openly admitted that the two reasons he picked that name, were that:

a) it included his name (Mike Rowe)
b) it then sounded like the famous company...

His company name had no reason for the 'soft' component, except to sound like another company - I think we can safely class that as Corporate Identity Theft.

Now bearing in mind his company was for web design, MikeRoweWebs.com would have been more suitable...

So personally I think Microsoft have every right to protect their investment!  An he wants $10,000 to loose his name... He needs to take a step back, stop messing with the big boys for the fun of it, and see the practical side.  Microsoft have a right to protect their name, and just because he admits that he named his 'company' and website to sound like them, he deserves to loose it, and be thankful they aren't running a suit for damages!
 Grr..!!  Grr..!!  Grr..!!  Grr..!!  Grr..!!  Grr..!!  Grr..!!  Grr..!!  Grr..!!  Grr..!!  Grr..!!  Grr..!!
Logged

<- From the ashes will rise a phoenix ->

Lunarpages Web Hosting || Lunarpages Forums || Lunarpages Affiliate Program
JamesG
Web Designer UK
Berserker Poster
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12038


Web Designer


WWW
« Reply #13 on: January 19, 2004, 02:36:51 AM »

im gonna buy micros0ft.co.uk ! Ner Ner
Logged

Hush
Senior Moderator
Über Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2905


« Reply #14 on: January 19, 2004, 05:51:49 AM »

Someone tried micros0ft.com and it go shut down as I recall... Won't get you far...  Ner Ner
Logged

<- From the ashes will rise a phoenix ->

Lunarpages Web Hosting || Lunarpages Forums || Lunarpages Affiliate Program
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: