Web Hosting Forum | Lunarpages


*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?



Login with username, password and session length
May 24, 2012, 02:46:31 AM

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: IP ADDRESS BAN  (Read 378 times)
roby
Trekkie
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« on: February 24, 2003, 04:41:00 PM »

Hi Moderators and Stephan,

It's me again with a question. I have had a total jerk post some offensive language on my forums. I see his IP Address. Well I want to ban him not only from the forums like I have but also from being able to access my site totally.

Now I have gone to CPanel and see that there is a choice for IP DENY MANAGER . I added his IP address but I know he still was able to come back and now access my chat room. There were some words listed in the deny list which was "all", I have no idea why is was there but I deleted it.

Is there a way I can deny is IP ADdress and the whole range that might be with it???

His IP ADDRESS is 206.215.222.184  and I know that there probably is a range to this. Can anyone help ???? I'm not so sure what I'm doing since I just learnt what IP Address is just today ..

Thank you.
Logged
Windsun
Intergalactic Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 178


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2003, 05:14:00 AM »

It should look something like this:

order allow,deny
allow from all
deny from 193.251.190.3
deny from 61.145.146.100
deny from 203.131.77.28
deny from 218.145.25.49
deny from 66.7.131.131

To block a whole series, you would put in 999.999.999.
 That would block 999.000 through 999.255.
 If you put in 216. you will block everything from that domain, which you probably do not want to do.

 To block all from that host (which could be hundreds of thousands of users), type in:

206.215.

-----------

OrgName:    ICG NetAhead, Inc.
OrgID:      ICGN
Address:    161 Inverness Drive West
City:       Englewood
StateProv:  CO
PostalCode: 80112
Country:    US

NetRange:   206.215.32.0 - 206.215.255.255
CIDR:       206.215.32.0/19, 206.215.64.0/18, 206.215.128.0/17
 
 [ February 24, 2003, 01:19 PM: Message edited by: Windsun ]
Logged

roby
Trekkie
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2003, 06:01:00 AM »

Thanks for your kind assistance but I tried copying everything down in CPANEL IP DENY but it doesn't see to work especially when writing all the words like "allow from all"- it just gives me a 0.

It seems that it only accepts a number.

Help !!
Logged
stephan
Guest
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2003, 06:10:00 AM »

I think you can ban people in the php admin/control panel bit.

That would be one solution.

The user may be simply using a different IP address to write from  "[Frown]"
Logged
Windsun
Intergalactic Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 178


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2003, 10:42:00 AM »

Just go in to your file manage and delete the old .htacess file. Then use the panel to put the IP's you want banned in - it will make a new one.
Logged

Navodyne
Intergalactic Cowboy
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 64


WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2003, 11:42:00 AM »

Here is something else you can do:

The IP Address you gave, 206.215.222.184, belongs to the following:

Intelcom Group (ICG3-DOM)
   161 Inverness Dr West
   Englewood, CO 80112

   Domain Name: ICG.NET

   Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
      Smith, Robert robert_smith@ICGCOMM.COM
      ICG Communications
      161 INVERNESS DR W
      ENGLEWOOD, CO  80112-5003
      303-414-5510 303-414-5881

They own a whole range of IP's from 206.215.32.0 - 206.215.255.255 so chances are if your user is on one IP address and you ban it, he could probably get on another one.

Also, in their registrar entry, they have a seperate ABUSE contact, as listed here:

OrgAbuseName:   Abuse
OrgAbusePhone:  +1-303-414-5000
OrgAbuseEmail:  abuse@icgcom.com

My guess... send them an E-Mail or give them a call and let them know what is going on!  Maybe they can shut him down!

Just my 25 cents worth!  "[Smile]"

Good luck in banning this guy!
Logged
roby
Trekkie
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2003, 07:20:00 PM »

Thanks for your kind assistance guys!!!!!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: