Web Hosting Forum | Lunarpages
News: November 3, 2008 - Enter Your URL in to WIN the November Site of the Month Award!
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 18, 2008, 08:09:48 AM


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Spam because of ONE mail server for our TWO domains ? Solutions ?  (Read 1000 times)
pstein
Intergalactic Cowboy
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 53


« on: February 14, 2007, 05:17:41 AM »

We have a Dedicated server with two domains running on it, let's say:

aaa.com (=primary domain)   and
bbb.com (=secondary domain)

By default Lunarpages sets up only ONE Mail Server for these two domains.
This mail server is always assigned to the primary domain (here: aaa.com)

For most of our eMails this scenario works fine.

However some clients who receive eMails from us with an eMail address
...@bbb.com identify them as Spam.

This occurs because the sending mail server (=aaa.com) does NOT fit to the
sending email domain (=bbb.com). In the header field on the recipients side the sending
server appears as

Received: from [125.103.233.172] (helo=your531abaa355)
   by server.aaa.com with esmtpsa (TLSv1:RC4-MD5:128)
   (Exim 4.63)
   (envelope-from <info@bbb.com>)
   id 1HHJpx-0005nj-23

Hmm, what kind of solution are for this kind of problem?

Can we setup a second eMail server?

Or can we configure the first (and only) mail server so that it identifies himself
depending on the sending eMail domain ?

Maybe there is another solution....

Peter
Logged
perestrelka
Administrator
Master Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1098



« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2007, 06:11:37 AM »

Hello Peter,

May I ask you what makes you think that the lack of convergence in the domain name and the hostname causes emails to be recognized as spam? Which anti-spam software is used on the client's side?

I believe there are thousands of sites using mail servers which do not send the same domain in the greeting as the one noted in the sender's email address. For example, each our shared server sends emails as server.lunarpages.com for any site hosting on it and this is not causing the problem you stated.
Logged

Kind Regards,
Vlad Artamonov
pstein
Intergalactic Cowboy
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 53


« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2007, 07:54:47 AM »

Again, I agree with you that identifying such eMails as spam is unusual.

However there are some important companies whose (unknown) spam software
bounce these eMails. One example: Well known "Nortel Networks" sends back those
eMails with the following remarks (I anonymized some personal values):


email bounce body:
----
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

  xxxxxxx@nortel.com
    SMTP error from remote mail server after end of data:
    host ertph000.nortel.com [47.234.0.40]: 550 209.200.236.242 blocked. - by our email filters - If you believe this to be in error, please forward this whole bounce (including Session ID:
    1171467698.03023523) to filtops@nortel.com ONLY
----

So obviously the Nortels spam software blocked such eMails.

Again the question: What can we do?
Logged
perestrelka
Administrator
Master Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1098



« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2007, 10:59:22 PM »


The only thing that is possible in such case is to contact Nortel and ask for details why the IP address was blocked and to remove filters for the IP.

I hope this helps.
Logged

Kind Regards,
Vlad Artamonov
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.6 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM