Web Hosting Forum | Lunarpages


*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?



Login with username, password and session length
May 24, 2012, 10:02:00 AM

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Why is my email address being rejected?  (Read 572 times)
wardwe2
Space Explorer
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


WWW
« on: August 13, 2003, 08:43:55 AM »

Over the past couple of days, several emails that I have sent out have been returned to me automatically from mail delivery software.  Here are 2 examples of the messages I receive back:

SMTP error from remote mailer after MAIL FROM:<{my email address}    host {the recipient's email host}
Sender refused by the RBL bl.spamcop.net

SMTP error from remote mailer after MAIL FROM:<{my email address}>:
host (the recipient's email host}
Mail refused by blackhole site bl.spamcop.net


I have previously sent emails to these recipients with no problems. And I've never sent spam messages.

Please help!!
Logged
wardwe2
Space Explorer
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2003, 09:04:33 AM »

Here's another one. (Why is this happening???)


This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

{email address of intended recipient}

SMTP error from remote mailer after initial connection:
host mailin-04.mx.aol.com [152.163.224.122]: 554-(RLY:B1)  The information presently available to AOL indicates this

554-server is generating high volumes of member complaints from AOL's
554-member base.  Based on AOL's Unsolicited Bulk E-mail policy at
554-http://www.aol.com/info/bulkemail.html AOL may not accept further
554-e-mail transactions from this server or domain.  For more information,
554 please visit http://postmaster.info.aol.com.
Logged
jojooboo
Jabba the Hutt
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 717



WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2003, 10:01:46 AM »

Evidently the SMTP server you are sending through has been determined to be an open relay and has been added to the list that many ISPs and spam software use to identify and/or block junk email.  What server are you using for SMTP?
Logged

wardwe2
Space Explorer
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2003, 10:11:53 AM »

pegasus.lunarpages.com
Logged
jojooboo
Jabba the Hutt
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 717



WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2003, 10:52:59 AM »

Apparently that server has been added to spamcop's database.

http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblock&ip=64.235.234.245

Looks like it takes 48 hours to get removed from that and I don't think emailing support@lunarpages.com will help you out, but you may want to let them know.  Also, you may want to use a different SMTP server (like if your internet access provider has one) for the time being.
Logged

wardwe2
Space Explorer
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2003, 11:17:17 AM »

Thanks for your reply. I have emailed the information you gave me to support@lunarpages.com. I'll post a message letting you know how it turns out.

Do you know how I can prevent this from happening again in the future?
Logged
jojooboo
Jabba the Hutt
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 717



WWW
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2003, 11:26:58 AM »

Quote from: wardwe2
Thanks for your reply. I have emailed the information you gave me to support@lunarpages.com. I'll post a message letting you know how it turns out.

Do you know how I can prevent this from happening again in the future?


The only way would be to use an SMTP server that doesn't end up in the databases like this.  There are many organizations that compile such lists and sometimes servers get listed in error (or perhaps someone else did send a bunch of spam through that server and it was listed correctly), but there's not really anything that you, personally, can do about it (other than don't send out spam).
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: