Web Hosting Forum | Lunarpages
News: July 14, 2008 - New Contest! - Submit Your WordPress Theme Designs, Win BIG!
June 30, 2008 - Submit Your Site for the July 08 Site of the Month Award!
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 26, 2008, 06:10:00 AM


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: AVG & Linkscanner says it detects threats on our site  (Read 340 times)
Windsun
Intergalactic Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 176


WWW
« on: May 09, 2008, 02:07:31 AM »

With the recent release of AVG virus scanner, we started getting a few emails from customers saying that our forum (Vbulletin 3.7) at http://www.wind-sun.com/ForumVB/index.php, was getting a warning from AVG and Linkscanner.

The IP that Linkscanner gives is "209.200.254.58 = Exploit server" (which resolves to the main Lunarpages.com site).

Nothing else in the world, and no other scanner or antivirus program shows this, so it is probably a false hit - but how do I make sure?

Could it be that some other site in that IP range (209.200.224.0 - 209.200.255.255) is causing all the sites to give a warning?
Logged

katrina1
Support Supervisor
Über Jedi
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1914



WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2008, 02:29:21 AM »

That IP is for our Nebula server, not our actual lunarpages.com site. The issue would be with your site. Is http://www.wind-sun.com/ForumVB/index.php the exact url where they are seeing the message? What is the exact message they get?
Logged

Hey, Rocky! Look. Nothing up my sleeve... presto a rabbit!

Lunarpages Web Hosting

Lunarpages Forums

Lunarpapages Affiliate Program
Windsun
Intergalactic Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 176


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2008, 03:03:12 AM »

Apparently it is not actually scanning the site (?), but any link to the site.

For example, if you Google "windsun forum", our forum is the first two links. If you have AVG and right click on any of those links to the forum, you get the message. In fact I can click on the link in my first message here and get the same warning.

If you have Linkscanner or the new AVG 8.0 with Linkscanner built in you can right-click links to check for "bad sites".

http://store.yahoo.com/lib/wind-sun/img2.jpg is the popup I get.

If you do the same for a link to http://www.wind-sun.com/ (not the forum) you get the same warning, so it appears to be site wide, not just the forum - but the forum is about the only thing active there right now.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2008, 03:10:08 AM by Windsun » Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.3 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines LLC
Seo4Smf v0.2 © Webmaster's Talks


Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM