Web Hosting Forum | Lunarpages
News: October 6, 2008 - Submit Your Site for the October 2008 Site of the Month!
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 12, 2008, 11:52:17 PM


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hotmail and Yahoo says i'm unsolicited mail  (Read 763 times)
obmob
Pong! (the videogame) Master
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


« on: May 03, 2007, 09:35:57 AM »

My ISP got blacklisted again, i was trying to figure out why my mass mail program stop working with hotmail and yahoo accounts.

I searched for my ip address and it seems to be un a banned range of ips. I got a dynamic ip, so everytime i turn on the computer the ip changes.

This is what i got from hotmail logs.

Quote
Connecting to: mx1.hotmail.com
220 bay0-mc2-f3.bay0.hotmail.com Sending unsolicited commercial or bulk e-mail to Microsoft's computer network is prohibited. Other restrictions are found at http://privacy.msn.com/Anti-spam/. Violations will result in use of equipment located in California and other states. Thu, 3 May 2007 09:25:48 -0700
250 bay0-mc2-f3.bay0.hotmail.com (3.3.2.16) Hello [189.135.58.96]
250 Resetting
550 Your e-mail was rejected for policy reasons on this gateway. Reasons for rejection may be related to content such as obscene language, graphics, or spam-like characteristics (or) other reputation problems. For sender troubleshooting information, please go to http://postmaster.msn.com.  Please note: if you are an end-user please contact your E-mail/Internet Service Provider for assistance.
Connection failed: Smtp protocol error 550
Address dead

Can anyone tell me if there is a way to bypass this?

Especially if there is a free way to do it.  Roll
Thanks

BTW, i'm not sending spam, it's a weekly newsletter for one of my websites.
Logged
AlexGator
Intergalactic Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 144


The Gator Fan


« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2007, 09:55:27 AM »

I can just tell that it's not your domain, it's LP server that you are on. I have similar problem, there is no easy way to fix it.
Logged
LynneN
Space Explorer
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2007, 10:25:06 AM »

This has been happening to me regularly and it is caused by another domain hosted on the same server I am on.  I've complained about it and LunarPages gets it cleared, but it comes back again.  Seems to me that LP should be taking action against the domains that are causing this.
Logged
obmob
Pong! (the videogame) Master
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2007, 08:21:38 PM »

Really? So it's not my ISP? Hypno
Logged
MrPhil
Quantum Encyclopedia Writer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3400



« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2007, 07:12:44 AM »

Really? So it's not my ISP? Hypno

Is your newsletter originating from your Lunarpages site (with an LP "from" address), or are you sending from your home PC (via your ISP) with a "from" address of your LP site? If the former, it is (unfortunately) common for LP servers to be blacklisted for spam. Sometimes someone is deliberately spamming (in violation of the Terms of Service), or someone's site has been hacked and taken over by a spammer, or someone is forwarding their LP email (including the spam) to another ISP, or someone's site is being used in forged return ("from") addresses by a spammer, or some idiot AOLuser pressed "report this email as spam" in order to unsubscribe from a newsletter, or...

In the latter case (you are "forging" an LP return address onto your emails), the spam-detection software may be detecting that the "from" address doesn't match up with the actual sending IP address, and declaring it spam. You should investigate adding an "SPF" record (search Lunarforums for SPF) to let them know that your LP site has authorized your PC to send mailings using its name (I think that's the gist of it).

In either case, I don't think you can "pin" anything on your ISP. They wouldn't be marking your outbound emails as spam.
Logged

obmob
Pong! (the videogame) Master
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2007, 08:33:50 AM »

Well, actually, I found out that my ISP's IP addresses are marked as spam generators, it seems that's why my newsletters have not been delivered.

I guess i'll search for SPF and see if this can deal a little with the problem.

Thanks, a little late :p
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.6 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM