Web Hosting Forum | Lunarpages


*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?



Login with username, password and session length
November 26, 2014, 03:04:27 AM

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Is it possible to run two websites from the same database?  (Read 1326 times)
gr8_boi52
Trekkie
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« on: April 05, 2013, 06:26:56 PM »

hi,
 i am creating a mobile friendly version of my site on my sub-domain called m.mydomain.com
i want it to use the same database as my main site does. So when i make changes to my main site it will take place on my mobile version too.
Is that possible?, please help and explain the steps a little bit easier to understand for a newbie.
thanks
 Confused Confused
 Help
Logged
MrPhil
Senior Moderator
Berserker Poster
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5923



« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2013, 08:03:17 AM »

It all depends on what software (forum, store, etc.) you're using, and whether it's built to properly coordinate between multiple sites using the same database. It's certainly possible, but the two separate sites need to know that they don't necessarily fully "own" the application.

By the way, it's not always necessary to create a separate website for mobile. Some applications can switch themes if they detect a mobile user, and others are designed to be "responsive", adjusting their content and layout based on probable bandwidth, the size of the display, and its capabilities. You might look into those areas before trying to run a separate site for mobile users.
Logged

Visit My Site

E-mail Me
  
-= From the ashes shall rise a sooty tern =-
annaharris
Spacescooter Operator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 49


WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2013, 04:21:51 AM »

Yes, it may be possible. To setup everything, you also need to configure your DNS and server settings appropriately.
Logged
gr8_boi52
Trekkie
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2013, 07:39:44 AM »

It all depends on what software (forum, store, etc.) you're using, and whether it's built to properly coordinate between multiple sites using the same database. It's certainly possible, but the two separate sites need to know that they don't necessarily fully "own" the application.

By the way, it's not always necessary to create a separate website for mobile. Some applications can switch themes if they detect a mobile user, and others are designed to be "responsive", adjusting their content and layout based on probable bandwidth, the size of the display, and its capabilities. You might look into those areas before trying to run a separate site for mobile users.

i get your idea but i am not create a new site , just making the exact same copy on m.mydomain.com but in mobile version, if you have better idea, please share them with me.
and can you please show me the steps?
Logged
MrPhil
Senior Moderator
Berserker Poster
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5923



« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2013, 08:59:40 AM »

A subdomain is a separate site. It has its own code and can have its own database. It's just under the same account as your main site.

I would suggest talking with the author or support group for whatever software you're using, as to whether you can safely run two sites (main + subdomain) off of one database. There may be alternatives to doing that, including automatically selecting a mobile theme if a mobile browser is detected, or using "responsive design" that adjusts content and layout based on browser resolution and capabilities.
Logged

Visit My Site

E-mail Me
  
-= From the ashes shall rise a sooty tern =-
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: