Web Hosting Forum | Lunarpages


*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?



Login with username, password and session length
October 30, 2014, 09:36:43 AM

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Joomla Date Time Warnings  (Read 19139 times)
Saurabh
Galactic Royalty
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 270


ITnauts.com


WWW
« on: October 26, 2012, 11:16:22 PM »

Hi,
My website, http://Itnauts.com is having many warnings since recently. Please help me out in repairing it.
Should I upgrade joomla from Cpanel, or is there a php file within joomla that is giving a call to a depricated method/function that I could replace.
Please Reply,
Saurabh
Logged

MrPhil
Senior Moderator
Berserker Poster
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5901



« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2012, 09:17:53 AM »

If you're just getting warnings about the timezone needing to be set, you can create (or add to) your /home/ACCOUNTNAME/public_html/php.ini file the line
Code:
date.timezone = 'America/New_York'
or whatever your proper timezone is (see the list: http://us3.php.net/manual/en/timezones.php). If you're creating a php.ini file for the first time, you will probably have to add to your /.htaccess file:
Code:
suPHP_ConfigPath /home/ACCOUNTNAME/public_html
where you use your real ACCOUNT NAME.

If you are getting other warnings about deprecated functions, the best course would be to update your Joomla to the current version. You must be running a very old one not to be PHP 5.3 compliant. It's possible to fix it yourself, but beyond deprecated functions (http://us.php.net/manual/en/migration53.deprecated.php) there are a number of other things that could require some major rewrites.

Note that I'm assuming you're on a Linux system. If you're on Windows, the fixes are probably different.
Logged

Visit My Site

E-mail Me
  
-= From the ashes shall rise a sooty tern =-
mrjuke4859
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2012, 01:37:41 PM »

I had the same problem with 1.5 when php 5 was upgraded.  I asked that php 5 be retored to orginal and it fixed the problem.  When you upgrade to 2.5 or 3.0 you shouldn't have that problem.
Logged
Malin Cenusa
Customer Service Representative
Support
Spaceship Navigator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


The World Is Not Enough


WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2012, 04:24:49 AM »

It is mainly a compatibility issue between some components of the older 1.0/1.5 Joomla cores and PHP 5.3. Reverting the PHP version back to 5.2 or defining the date.timezone in your php.ini will always fix this issue.

Unfortunately this is not something we can predict or avoid most of the time.
Logged

Malin Cenusa

Customer Service Representative 2 - Managed Shared Hosting Team
Lunarpages Internet Solutions

Managed Hosting Now Available
http://www.lpwebhosting.com/managed

Website: http://lunarpages.com
Email: support@lunarpages.com
Phone: 1-714-521-8150
Community - http://www.lunarforums.com
Tutorials - http://www.lunarpages.com/tutorials/
derickwilliams
Space Explorer
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2013, 04:27:18 AM »

I agree it's all about compatibility .Just upgrade your version to 2.5 or 3.0 as this could solve your problem.
Logged
tomrichards
Pong! (the videogame) Master
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 21


« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2014, 10:22:02 PM »

To my knowledge, there is no comment module in the Joomla core. So you better ask the developer of your comments extension for support.
 
Also make sure you have set the timezone in the Joomla server settings. And you can disable the warning messages with the error log parameter if you don't need to see them.

Logged
gavind
Spaceship Captain
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 104



« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2014, 06:42:20 AM »

In addition to this, make sure that you make a back up of everything else before doing the upgrade. Just to be on the safe side.
Logged
robetlombard
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2014, 04:32:00 AM »

I agree it's all about compatibility .Just upgrade your version to 2.5 or 3.0 as this could solve your problem.

Yeah! you are right. But before making upgrade, you should take the backup of your website.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 04:39:01 AM by Pete » Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: