Web Hosting Forum | Lunarpages


*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?



Login with username, password and session length
September 02, 2014, 10:56:26 AM

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: site in waiting mode  (Read 2128 times)
durangod
Galactic Royalty
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 202


« on: March 19, 2010, 05:52:48 AM »

Hi got everything working for the most part and the site is comming along very nicely and im learning so much, and thats great, but i am curious how do i find out what my site is waiting for..

what i mean is that no matter what page im on it says 1 item remaining, and it allways shows that page link that im on, i have tried looking at it thru the bug util of ff but i dont know how to pull up exactly what its waiting for, maybe there is something i need to close, i dont know,  and it never goes away allways waiting, im not getting any errors...

any clues to point me in the right direction, its a php site...
Logged
durangod
Galactic Royalty
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 202


« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2010, 08:12:55 AM »

figured i would give an update here, so far what i have found is that the
1 item remaining bug has been on IE for a very long time, seems to be cosmetic only as this does not happen on FF.  page shows done on FF..

so im guessing its IE's problem lol  but if anyone would like to confim this or share your thoughts please do so.. thanks
Logged
katrina1
Guest
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2010, 12:33:42 AM »

Would you like to provide the URL so we can all look at it? FF is far more forgiving of errors than MSIE.
Logged
durangod
Galactic Royalty
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 202


« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2010, 08:53:23 AM »

thanks katrina1 appreciate that, its www.clumpgaggle.com  i just sent you a pm with the testprofile you can login to. cause thats where it hangs up..  let me know if you did not get that pm it didnt look like it was sent
« Last Edit: March 20, 2010, 08:58:09 AM by durangod » Logged
MrPhil
Senior Moderator
Berserker Poster
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5871



« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2010, 11:07:46 AM »

Just a comment on the page header... please remove the "This Site is Best View on Firefox". Besides being ungrammatical, the Firefox (and other Open Source software) community has worked long and hard to get rid of "Best viewed on..." nonsense on web pages. That's left over from "Best viewed on Internet Explorer 6" days, where MS page editors like FrontPage and Publisher would put in lots of proprietary crap to make sure a page wouldn't render well on non-IE browsers, and to deliberately exclude visitors not using IE. The days are over when you had to tune your page to look best on one specific browser. Just assume that anyone using IE6 is not going to have a good experience -- but that's their fault for using such an ancient and (even at the time) bad browser.

It's fine to use the Firefox logo (unsquashed) with a link to the FF site, to encourage people to use it. However, it's considered in bad taste to say "Best View[ed] on Firefox".
Logged

Visit My Site

E-mail Me
  
-= From the ashes shall rise a sooty tern =-
durangod
Galactic Royalty
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 202


« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2010, 11:15:56 AM »

thanks phil its gone i had to squash the logo alittle to get it to fit in there, but i took it out and when and if i put it back i will refrain from sqashing lol and will not use the best viewed on and i had just changed that font on that text and didnt realize i left off the ed lol tooo funnny  Rofl   thanks for understanding exactly why i had put that on there and im glad those days are gone and your right i try to do a site to catch every possible scenario but its impossible to do and impossible to make everyone happy...   thanks for your imput bud...
« Last Edit: March 20, 2010, 11:17:44 AM by durangod » Logged
katrina1
Guest
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2010, 01:35:31 AM »

Got the PM and see what you mean. This seems to be a common issue and not easy to find. Do a search of "msie 1 item remaining" in Google and you will get lots of results. I see flash mentioned quite a bit as the culprit and AddThis. I did notice that if I use compatibility mode it fully loads with no waiting message. I use MSIE 8.06 btw. Sorry I can't help more.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: